JPA Meetings Agendas

JPA Meetings Agendas

The Joint Powers Agency (JPA) Board is the decision-making body for the SBCSELPA and derives its power from the statutes of the State of California and from a Joint Powers Agreement approved by all school districts in the county. It is the policy of the Board to encourage public participation in the Board's activities in order to fully promote communication with interested persons and entities in Santa Barbara County. All meetings of the JPA Board are public and accessible. Deliberations of the Board, except for those appropriate for closed sessions, shall be conducted openly and all actions taken in public session. The following is a summary of the organizational structure of the JPA Board.

SBCSELPA Joint Powers Agency (JPA) Board Membership is comprised of eight Santa Barbara County School District/local education agency superintendents that represent school districts by service type and area:

  • North County Non-direct Service District Representatives
  • South County Non-direct Service District Representatives
  • North and South County Direct Service District Representative
  • Santa Ynez Valley Special Education Consortium Non-direct Service District Representative
  • 9th through 12th Grade High School District Representative
  • Santa Barbara County Schools Representative


El Consejo de la Agencia de Poderes Unidos (JPA) es el cuerpo de toma de decisiones por SBCSELPA y deriva su poder de los estatutos del Estado de California y de un Acuerdo de Poderes Unidos aprobado por todos los distritos escolares del condado.  Es la norma del Consejo fomentar la participación pública en las actividades del Consejo para promover plenamente la comunicación con las personas y entidades interesadas en el Condado de Santa Bárbara. Todas las reuniones del Consejo son públicas y accesibles. Las deliberaciones del Consejo, con excepción de aquellas apropiadas para sesiones cerradas, se efectuarán abiertamente y todas las acciones se tomarán en sesión pública. El siguiente es un resumen de la estructura organizativa del Consejo de la JPA.

El Consejo de la Agencia de Poderes Unidos (JPA, por sus siglas en inglés) de SBCSELPA está compuesta por ocho superintendentes de agencias educativas locales/Distritos Escolares del Condado de Santa Bárbara que representan a los distritos escolares por tipo de servicio y área:

  • Representantes del Distrito de Servicios No directos del Condado Norte
  • Representantes del Distrito de Servicios No Directos del Condado Sur
  • Representante del Distrito de Servicios Directos del Condado Norte y Sur
  • Representante del Distrito de Servicios No Directos del Consorcio de Educación Especial del Valle de Santa Ynez
  • Representante del Distrito de Escuelas Secundarias Grados 9º al 12º
  • Representante de Escuelas del Condado de Santa Bárbara

JPA Board Meeting Schedule:


All meetings will begin at noon via Zoom or in the Jonata School Library unless otherwise announced.  For any questions regarding meeting location, date, time, etc., contact Lindsay MacDonald via e-mail at, or by calling the SBCSELPA Office at (805) 683-1424.

  • July 2023 - No Meeting
  • August 28, 2023* @ 9 a.m.
  • September 2023 - No Meeting
  • October 2, 2023**
  • November 6, 2023**
  • December 4, 2023 @ Jonata Middle School Library
  • January 17, 2024 at 12pm - Special Meeting 
  • February 5, 2024 - VIRTUAL Meeting due to weather conditions
  • March 4, 2024**
  • April 2024 - No Meeting
  • May 6, 2024 - Meeting at Montecito Union School 
  • June 3, 2024** 

*Change from customary first Monday of the month. 

**Dates the Superintendent Council meeting is held virtually.  The JPA Board ill to discuss as a group to decide where to host these meetings.

***The JPA Board will be held at the Jonata Middle School Library, Buellton, CA, unless advised otherwise.   

23-24 JPA Board Meeting Schedule Approved 10/2/2023

JPA Board Members

Anne Hubbard Dr. Anne Hubbard – Chairperson
Hope School District
Randal Haggard Dr. Randal Haggard – Vice Chairperson
Buellton Union School District
Amy Alzina Dr. Amy Alzina – Clerk
Cold Spring School District
Holly Edds Dr. Holly Edds
Orcutt Union School District
Antonio Garcia Mr. Antonio Garcia
Santa Maria Joint Union High School District
Mr. Anthony Ranii
Montecito Union School District
Dr. Emilio Handall
Guadalupe Union School District
Susan Salcido Dr. Susan Salcido
County Superintendent of Schools